Original

Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
I think not, because that has been done before
And you are an original
I could talk about your eyes and smile
And how they sparkle so bright
Whether it be the sun or moon that shines upon them
I could go on how your hair isn’t black in that picture, I swear
And how clearly it shows your light brown hair
As it falls on your shoulders
Curling down in a way that makes you that much cuter
Your skin, your lips, your body
I could go on about how I think you’re beautiful
But I know although romantic, it’s been don before.
I could tell you that you make me laugh at whatever you say
That you are more caring than Mother Theresa,
More loving than St. Valentine
And more fantastic than any other being I know of
But again, its been done before.
And it pains me to try and try
And think of what hasn’t been done
As the time ticks away I sit at this computer
Screen blaring and keys clicking away
And at the end of each line
The backspace key is hit furiously
Angry with myself that you deserve more
As I have a small freak out over a simple poem.
I think all these things about you
Because you’re like no other girl I’ve met before
And every day I see you I want to show you
Because I don’t think you realize
Just how special you really are
And every day I see you I want to be closer to you
Just to talk with you and say hello
Because I don’t think you realize
How much that would mean to me
To just be with you
And every day I see you I want so badly
To let you know how I feel
To tell you that I want to be with you
But I know I won’t be able to do it
I know that I’m probably NOT your type of guy
And trying would just hurt me that much more
Because if I try and fail,
Then no longer will I be able to just be with you
For fear of the awkwardness I have created
No longer will I be able to say hello
And have you bright up my day
As you smile back at me
No longer will I live in this oblivious world
Where I could dream that you care about me too.
Yet everyday I long to ask you
To have this question burning inside me
Finally let out, and the fire carries its course
And find out whether it will thrive or be extinguished
It was Shakespeare’s Cassius, who once said,
“The fault dear Brutus, is not in our stars,
But in ourselves that we are underlings.”
And with that I think everyday
That it’s my fault that I don’t have the courage
To ask someone like you to go on a simple date with me
That I need to man up and understand that if I don’t ask
This horrible phenomenon known, as nothing will occur
That this is my shot, and I’m just going to come up and ask
And whether or not you say yes
I’ll have finally gotten the courage to ask
And that as I stand up, this is my true moment
And I knock on your door, and you answer,
And I’m about to blow up with excitement,
And you open the door…
And I see your bright smile looking at me
And all of a sudden I came just to say hello
And to see what’s up with you
You then shut the door after we talk for a bit
As I walk back to my room in defeat
The fault is not in our stars,
But in myself for I am an underling
I spent all this time, trying to write you a poem
But not just any poem
A poem that would depict just how original you are
But after all this time I understand
That an original girl, deserves an original guy and,
I’m just ordinary
So lets try this poem again:
Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
So soothing, wonderful, beautiful, ordinary you are not.
I know this day is the first of its kind,
While us winter nights, there are quite a lot.
So go enjoy this new summer day
Because for you this winter night…you’ve probably forgot.

Leave a comment